Vanilla: Stan the Man, Lap Dance Room, and the Secret Admirer

Have you ever seen somebody who gives you the “heebie jeebies?”  They don’t have to speak a word.  They don’t even have to look in your direction.  You can just feel their dark vibe from across the room.

Tonight, I got that feeling.  This guy walked into Club Vanilla acting as if he owned the place.  He swaggered over to a secluded table to the right of the stage.  I studied his face as he watched the girls on stage.  He almost appeared bored.  When Kitty, a knockout blonde who is a favorite of our patrons, approached him with a flirty sway of her hips he waved her off.  He ignored all advances from Trish as well.

I shot a glance over at the bar where Diane, Kieran, and Crystal were slammed with demanding patrons.  Diane rolled her eyes at the guy shaking her head at his attitude.  I saw the change come over her face, warning me that something was about to happen.

I looked back over at the guy just in time to see Lenny slap his feet off the table.  The guy stood up facing off with Lenny.  They stood eye to eye which was an accomplishment since Lenny towers over most men.  I threw Diane a worried look.  She took no notice of me; she was too busy studying the situation that was unraveling in that dark corner of the club.

I watched as Thomas expertly diffused the situation.  He and the guy walked into the back office.  I’m not sure what they could possibly have to discuss, but I’m sure their conversation would be nefarious in its content.  The guy had evil stamped all over him.

I jumped as Diane suddenly appeared by my left side.

“Oops, sorry about that Vanilla.” She knew that I didn’t like to be approached from my left without a verbal warning.

“No worries.”

“I have something for you.”

I raised my eyebrows at her lopsided grin.  She looked like the cat that had eaten the canary.

“Another envelope arrived for you today.”

My breath caught in my throat.  I felt the anticipation spread outwards from my gut.  I hoped that it was another letter from my Secret Admirer.  I tried to act all nonchalant.  I don’t think Diane was buying my act.

“Okay, so an envelope arrived…”

“Do you want me to give it to you now?”

Of course, I did!  I simply shrugged, forcing my eyes to turn towards the stage.

“You, know you aren’t fooling me, right?” Diane chuckled as she handed me the plain white envelope with only my name scrawled on it.

I headed towards one of the empty Lap Dance rooms.  Pushing aside the beaded curtain, I walked into the dimly lit room.  I sat down on the tacky red velour couch perching lightly on its edge – not daring to sit on the cushion.  I had heard rumors of what happened in these rooms.  The Club Vanilla motto was, “What happened in the Lap Dance rooms, stayed in the Lap Dance rooms.”

I felt somewhat stupid at the anticipation that was making my hands tremble slightly.  For goodness sake, I was not some naïve school girl!  Yet, there I sat holding an envelope that I hoped had another poem in it, trembling in anticipation.

With exquisite care, I gently opened the envelope.  Inside was a piece of paper folded in thirds.  Smiling, I opened up the sheet of paper as my eyes hungrily devoured the words.

Gaze Senryū 川柳
Charcoal etched voyeurs
Poised dignity protects her
onyx sculptured heart

Who was this Secret Admirer who could see into the depths of my soul?  I hadn’t a clue.

All, I knew was that each poem was a ray of light in my dark world…

 


Thank you to the Secret Admirer (aka Memoirs of a Dragon) for writing another touching poem for Vanilla.  Please take a moment to go visit his blog.
Who is Stan?  Who is Diane?  Who are Kieran and Crystal?